RHS Hampton Court Flower Show: Hemsley + Hemsley, Scott Mills, Mary Berry, Len Goodman and More!

I’m so pleased to finally be able to write this post!

Last week, I was working at the RHS Hampton Court Flower Show 2017. The weather was hot and sunny throughout the week. There was a lot to see and do, so read on!

As I was working at the show, I was able to be there on Press Day, the day when lots of celebrities are invited to the show. I was lucky to see lots of them, and get some photos too!

Before most of the celebrities congregated to celebrate the opening of the show at the RHS Kitchen Garden, however, the Hairy Bikers filmed their cooking show live there. On the first day, their guest was Stanley Tucci (who’s been in films including The Devil Wears Prada!). Here they are filming:

Screenshot_2017-07-03-19-45-45-1

On the first press day, I saw Sarah Hadland (Stevie in Miranda), Kate Silverton, Charlotte Hawkins, Len Goodman, Linda Barker, Penny Lancaster, Mary Berry (queen), Alex Jones, Jane Moore, Ayo Akinwolere and Amanda Lamb. I might have seen Charlie Stayt from Breakfast too I also spoke twice to Dominic Littlewood of Dick and Dom fame, who was very nice!

20170703_115337
Sarah Hadland
20170703_121004.jpg
I got this great picture of Len Goodman!
20170703_121830.jpg
Ayo Akinwolere

Of course, I had to work across the week, but I managed to see some other celebs and look round the site. One of the days, I saw my journalism idol, Janet Street-Porter, and couldn’t believe it! Scott Mills, the Radio 1 DJ, was the guest when Saturday Kitchen Live was filmed at the show:

20170708_112544

I also unashamedly went to see Justin Fletcher of CBeebies perform at the show. Though the target audience clearly wasn’t my age group, he was a great performer. He was so energetic! The clean eating duo Hemsley + Hemsley also gave demos at the show, which I unfortunately only realised the day after.

In terms of attractions, there was lots to see and do! Plants were used in innovative ways, like to fill this Land Rover and in a butterfly dome, where the butterflies were so pretty! In the picture of the butterflies below, I happened to be looking round the dome while Denise Welch was also in there!

20170709_155212.jpg

20170703_154739.jpg

I’m not a big gardener, but I loved a selection of USA-themed gardens at the show. I particularly loved the first garden of these three pictures – I thought it was so pretty and a garden that was achievable to create. Flower show gardens are actually quite a bit smaller than how they look on the TV coverage.

20170707_162909.jpg

20170707_162942.jpg

20170707_163019.jpg

Here are some other gardens at the show:

20170707_163102.jpg

20170709_113858.jpg

Near the end of the show on Sunday, I bought a bonsai tree and a venus flytrap. I like plants that have interesting characteristics!

Now I need your help! I took this photo at the show on Press Day as two photographers went to take pictures of the man in it, though they didn’t know who he was. Can anyone tell me if the man in it is a celebrity and who either him or the woman on the right (in shades) are?

20170703_121806.jpg

All images are copyright of Kate Jones.

Leave a Reply

