Recreating a Wagamama Dish at Home

Earlier on, when thinking about what to have for tea tonight, I suddenly wondered whether there might be an easy recipe online for Wagamama’s Cha Han Donburi, which I seem to order the most whenever I go to that restaurant (I love the little dish of pickles!). Searching on Google, a result came up right from the Wagamama website! I therefore decided to have a go at making this dish (taking into account the availability of ingredients, easiness of cooking and the need to save money.

The page says you can chop and change with the recipe, and I certainly did. To make the dish, I used:

  • 2/3 of a pack of ready-to-eat chicken
  • 1 tin of sliced mushrooms
  • The corn from 2 cooked cobettes of sweetcorn
  • 2 chopped spring onions
  • 1 pack of microwaveable brown rice
  • 1 beaten egg
  • Soy sauce

I also didn’t marinade the chicken for an hour prior to cooking, but I did mix it in a bit of soy sauce beforehand (though not too much as I was concerned about going overboard and making the meal taste bad).

The result? The taste wasn’t an exact replica of the taste of the actual Wagamama dish (which is likely, given that I didn’t use all the ingredients in the recipe!) but that doesn’t mean it still wasn’t very nice. There was a really nice mix of textures in the dish and I had a bit more after my first helping, likely helped by the soy sauce I served the dish with. I’m sure I’ll be cooking it again!

Leave a Reply

