Five Tracks from My Early Childhood

It’s official – my sister and I are going to see Steps! Both of us have been fans of theirs for years – myself when my parents bought me a videotape of one of their concerts, maybe in 1999 or 2000 (it’s amazing to think I’m writing that). My sister was only a year old when they split up, but grew up watching the tape and enjoying their music too. With 2017 being 20 years since the band was formed, the band have got a new tour, and I took the plunge and bought tickets, meaning we’re finally going to see them in the flesh!

With this in mind, I thought I’d offer you five tracks that I remember from growing up in the late 90s and mainly the early 00s:

1. Steps – Love’s Got a Hold on My Heart (1999)

I figured I had to start with a track from my favourite band. This song’s the first on the concert tape we’ve had for years:

2. Backstreet Boys – As Long As You Love Me (1997)

Backstory: This song is one of the earliest introductions I had to pop music. At some uncertain time in my early life (I believe before the turn of the Millennium and the birth of my sister that year), I was given a free Barbie-themed CD while in a shop with my mum, and this was the first track on it.

3. Will Young – Light My Fire (2002)

Will Young’s old hits really remind me of the early 00s. Here’s one of them:

4. Kylie Minogue – Can’t Get You Out of My Head (2001)

A huge song from the early Noughties.

5. Cha Cha Slide – DJ Casper (1998)

Though recorded somewhat earlier, this song was number one in the UK Singles Chart in 2004, and I thought I’d put it in as it reminds me of primary school discos etc.:

Leave a Reply

