My Top 11 Musical Films (10 Wasn’t Enough)

SPOILERS INCLUDED

Given that I had a musicals-themed fancy dress party for my 20th birthday, it’s safe to say that I’m a pretty big musicals fan. The films of my childhood are marked by some pretty big musical films, as well as memories of watching some musicals on the stage. As another early blog post, I thought I’d give you a rundown of my top 11 films from this classic genre (I couldn’t narrow it down!):

11. The Sound of Music

Despite this being a bit of an epic when it comes to length, I had to put this one in my list, which tells the story of a nun who goes to look after seven children, teaching them music and learning more about herself along the way. I decided to include this clip from it as surely everyone who’s seen this film wants to sing on a hilltop like this once in their lifetime?

10. Mamma Mia!

Who knew ABBA songs could make such a decent musical? Having uncovered her mum’s old diary, 20-year-old Sophie asks her three potential fathers to her wedding. What will result? Due to the lack of an official clip, I thought I’d offer you the song from which the musical takes its name:

9. High School Musical

Yes, it’s a bit naff, but when you watch the original film, you realise the story and songs are pretty well done. Here’s one of the songs from the musical (it’s been shortened down, but I wanted to put this on here due to the fantastically hilarious rhyming of “Crème brulée” with “Gotta play” and “Hip-hop hooray”).

8. Little Shop of Horrors

A fantastic musical score serves as a real highlight of this 1986 film about a carnivorous plant starring Rick Moranis.

7. Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory

The original adaptation of Roald Dahl’s novel is a classic, focusing on a boy who finds one of five golden tickets to visit the famous Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory. Here’s the moment where Wonka loses it, which the Internet loves:

6. The Wizard of Oz

For this fantastically-made musical, focusing on a girl’s journey to try and get back home, I’ve awarded it number 6 on my list.

5. Bride and Prejudice

This film, with really catchy songs, transports Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice to present-day (according to when the film was made) Amritsar.

4. Bugsy Malone

This musical film about gangsters has a cast made up entirely of child actors. I’m not sure I’ve even seen the film version in full before, but its musical numbers are so catchy.

3. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

If you haven’t watched this musical film about a magical car, you NEED to. It features fantastic songs and spectacles.

2. Hairspray (2007)

Another Zac Efron musical, this time about a girl who wins a place to dance on a TV show and fights racial segregation.

1. Grease

I don’t think any other musical will ever beat this one for me. It’s such an iconic film focusing on the romance between two high-school students. Its fashions are insane, and its musical score encompasses a wide range of emotions (reflection, happiness etc.) as well as being so utterly amazing. Here’s just one song from it:

Let me know your favourite musical films in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “My Top 11 Musical Films (10 Wasn’t Enough)

  1. Kate, great article! My only question is, why is Sound of Music last on this list? Surely it deserves to be higher than 11th?! Does ‘climb every mountain’ not make you cry every time?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

